top of page

The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby (Part 1)

The Red Brick Auditorium, Square Chapel, Halifax

March 2004

There have been several film version of Nicholas Nickleby including an  Ealing classic version, an animated version and most recently a  Hollywood feature film starring Jamie Bell (Smike) and Charlie Hunnam  (Nicholas) in which the location for the infamouse Dotheboys Hall was  Gibson Mill in the local beauty spot Hardcastle Crags. Several local  boys were involved as extras including three from our casts; Dean (Ralph Nickleby in Part II), Daniel (Smike in Part I) and  Michael (Crowl and Mr Blightey in Part II). They were involved  in several night shoots and were all suitably terrified by the actor Jim  Broadbent's portrayal of Wackford Squeers.

This stage adaption of  Nicholas Nickleby was originally presented in June 1980 by the Royal  Shakespere Company at the Aldwych Theatre in London. The production  transfered to Broadway and was also televised for Channel 4. The plays  were a result of five weeks of discussions, workshops and experiments  undertaken by the 45 members of the RSC under the direction of Trevor  Nunn and John Caird.


Mrs Nickleby - Abby C

Mobbs / Hannah - Abby M

Ralph Nickleby - Adam

Madame Mantalini - Amanda

Miss Wagstaff / Milliner - Bethan

Tilda Price - Bryony

Newman Noggs - Calum

Vincent Crummles - Chris B

Wackford Squeers - Chris K

Smike - Daniel Sm

John Browdie - Daniel Sy

Mrs Squeers - Elise

Pitcher / Mrs Heatherington - Ella

Jackson / Milliner - Emily

Fanny Squeers - Emma

Peters / Mrs Grudden - Eve

Roberts - Heather

Mrs Snawley - Helen R

Miss La Creevy - Helen W

Tomkins / Scaley - Jack

Dotheboys Schoolboys – Susannah, Tawny, Jasmine,   Rowan, Maisha

Master Crummles - James

Phib / Miss Gazingi - Jenny B

Milliner - Jenny W

Bolder - Jessica

Master Crummles - Joe

Jennings / Snobb - Kristian

Miss Knag - Lauren

Nicholas Nickleby - Laurie

Miss Snevellici - Madeleine

Tix - Maisha

Kate Nickleby - Martha

Coates / Footman - Max

Young Wackford - Michael

Cobbey - Rachel

Belling - Rebecca

Sprouter / Miss Paley - Ruth

Mr Mantalini - Sam D

Snawley boy / Mr Blightey - Sam H

Mrs Crummles - Sara

Directed by Frank Brown, Gillie Kerrod & Stephen Finegold

Musical Direction by Dave Nelson

< Back
bottom of page