top of page

The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby Part 2

The Red Brick Auditorium, Square Chapel, Halifax

March 2004

There have been several  film version of Nicholas Nickleby including an Ealing classic version,  an animated version and most recently a Hollywood feature film starring  Jamie Bell (Smike) and Charlie Hunnam (Nicholas) in which the location  for the infamouse Dotheboys Hall was Gibson Mill in the local beauty  spot Hardcastle Crags. Several local boys were involved as extras  including three from our casts; Dean Robinson (Ralph Nickleby in Part  II), Daniel Smith (Smike in Part I) and Michael Borrow (Crowl and Mr  Blightey in Part II). They were involved in several night shoots and  were all suitably terrified by the actor Jim Broadbent's portrayal of  Wackford Squeers.

This stage adaption of Nicholas Nickleby was  originally presented in June 1980 by the Royal Shakespere Company at the  Aldwych Theatre in London. The production transfered to Broadway and  was also televised for Channel 4. The plays were a result of five weeks  of discussions, workshops and experiments undertaken by the 45 members  of the RSC under the direction of Trevor Nunn and John Caird.


Mr Pluck - Akeel

John Browdie / Walter Bray - Alex D

Newman Noggs - Alex S

Belling / Box Keeper - Alice

Mrs Wititterley - Amy B

Mrs Nickleby - Amy S

Young Wackford / Walter - Billy

Mrs Belavawney / Wanda - Bridget

Vincent Crummles - Daniel Sc

Ralph Nickleby - Dean

Miss La Creevy - Emma

Tilda Price / Mrs Grudden - Florence

Charles Cheeryble / Gride - Gordon

Bolder / Miss Paley - Gwen

Miss Ledrook / Whilemina - Holly

Lord Frederick Verisopht - James T

Frank Cheeryble / Folair - Jun Hon

Kate Nickleby - Kathy

Alphonsina / Phib - Katie A

Miss Snevellici - Leila

Mrs Squeers / Mrs Lenville - Lucy

Wackford Squeers - Matthew

Young Snawley / Crowl - Michael

Madeline Bray - Michelle

Mrs Snevellici / Greymarsh - Miriam

Sir Mulberry Hawk - Pravinder

Ned Cheeryble - Robert

Mr Pyke / Brooker - Ross

Fanny Squeers - Sarah

Miss Gazingi / Cobbey - Sidonie

Nicholas Nickleby - Simon

Coates / Hannah - Sophia

Peg Sliderskew - Stephanie B

Miss Bravassa / Tomkins - Stephanie P

Mrs Snawley - Tamar

Smike - Zac

Directed by Frank Brown, Gillie Kerrod & Stephen Finegold

Musical Direction by Dave Nelson

< Back
bottom of page